nomadaplus.blogg.se

Recovering food addicts anonymous
Recovering food addicts anonymous






recovering food addicts anonymous
  1. Recovering food addicts anonymous full#
  2. Recovering food addicts anonymous free#

: a chronic disease characterized by excessive and usually compulsive drinking of alcohol that leads to psychological and nutritional disorders caused by the compulsive consumption and dependence on alcoholic liquor : a person who is affected with alcoholism : a person who frequently, habitually or compulsively drinks too much alcohol and is unable to live a normal and healthy life To start the discussion, let’s make sure we have the same basic understanding of a few words.

recovering food addicts anonymous

An alcoholic looks like your grandparents, parents, aunt, uncle, cousin, sibling, children, friend, boss, co-worker or neighbor. It could save your life or someone you love. What’s important for everyone to glean from this post is the real, experience-filled information that I hope EVERYONE will take the time to read and understand. They will remain nameless because their identity isn’t the information that’s important.

recovering food addicts anonymous

Today I am going to interview a recovering alcoholic who regularly attends Alcoholic Anonymous meetings. On average, an alcoholic will usually make it to the grave a whole lot faster than a non-alcoholic.

Recovering food addicts anonymous full#

Someone who is an alcoholic that continues to drink can’t live a rich, full life and essentially is slowly destroying their body. It is IMPOSSIBLE to heal PTSD while being continuously drunk. Someone with PTSD who succumbs to the temptation of drinking enough alcohol to remain numb 24/7 can’t heal their mental illness. We would be able to talk about it like heart disease or cancer. Just as I feel everyone should understand PTSD, I also believe that if everyone understood alcoholism, there would no longer be a stigma for that disease either. More importantly it helped me to better understand the workings of an alcoholic mind and indirectly the insanity of the PTSD brain.Īlthough I still have not ever drank alcohol, I wanted to share information that might help someone who is an alcoholic in denial, someone who loves an alcoholic or someone who has PTSD and is thinking about using alcohol to numb the pain. The people there don’t “know” me because of the anonymous factor and their stories helped me to count my blessings.

Recovering food addicts anonymous free#

That kind of person is often referred to as a “dry drunk” because they aren’t drinking (dry), but have the traits of an alcoholic who is drinking (drunk).Īfter I was laid off and lost my insurance, I continued attending both Al-Anon and Alcoholic Anonymous meetings because they were free meetings that still helped me cope with my job loss, feelings of worthlessness and enabling personality. That’s also why I was not going to live with the insanity and pain for the rest of my life.ĭuring my therapy, it was suggested that I attend Al-Anon and Alcoholic Anonymous meetings to help better understand myself and to understand a close relative who had been sober for decades, but was exhibiting the characteristics of an alcoholic even though they were not drinking. That’s why PTSD is considered a mental illness. Obviously, I chose the intense psychological therapy, but during that horrible time drugs, alcohol and killing myself all started to look like viable choices.

  • Live with insanity and pain for the rest of my life.
  • I only had a few options available to stop the PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder) insanity and pain:








    Recovering food addicts anonymous